1886 Police and Stations

The Maitland Mercury and Hunter River General Advertiser ( NSW )

Thursday  1 April 1886   p 2 of 8





A supplement to the Gazette, dated March 26 ( 1886 ), contains the following among a list of names of Policemen authorised to Prosecute for Trespass on Crown lands –

ANGLEDOOL – Alfred Reid, Constable.

ARMIDALE – Patrick Rafferty ( # 1415 ), Snr Sgt., William Thom ( # 4177 ) – Constable.

ASHFORD – Thomas Henry Selff ( # 3701 ) – Constable.

BARRABA – Thomas Johnston, constable

BELLINGER Rvr (Boat Harbour) – Edwin May, Constable.

BENDEMEER – Leland H Stumbles, Constable.

BINGERA – Alexander Johnston, Sergeant.

BLACKVILLE – J Williamson, Senior-Constable.

BOGGABRI – William McCabe, Constable.

BOLIVIA – James Rogers, Constable.

BRANXTON – John Ritchie, Constable.

BREWARRINA – G Steele, Constable.

BROADWATER – Frank Young, Constable.

BROKE – David Kirk, Constable.

BULLADELAH – Robert I Quayle, Constable.

BUNDARRAH – John Murphy, Senior-Constable.

BUNGWALL FLAT – Charles Grimshaw, Const.

CARROLL – W. Trevathan, Constable.

CASSILLIS – W Crawley, Senior-Constable.

CESSNOCK – R W Morris, Constable.

CHARLESTOWN – James Thompson, Constable.

CLARENCE TOWN – Henry Preston, Constable.

COBBORAH – Thomas Slack, Senior-Constable.

COLLARENDABRI – Thos. Finneran, Constable.

COPELAND – Robert Gamble, Senior-Constable.

COOLAH – William Roberts, Senior-Constable.

COONABARABRAN – William Borthistle, Const.

COONAMBLE – George Boyd, Constable.

COORANBONG – Duncan McDiarmid, Const.

CUNDLETOWN – Patrick Hogan, Constable.

DENMAN – George E Ogden, Constable.

DUNGOG – Thomas Forest, Senior-Constable.

EMMAVILLE – Duke Deane, Senior-Constable.

FREDERICKTON – Patrick Ryan, Snr.-Constable.

FORSTER – Joseph Newell, Constable.

GLEN INNES – George Wells, Senior-Sergeant.

GLOUCESTER – W. Mayo, Constable.

GOORANGOOLA – Walter Barry, Constable.

GOODOOGA – Hugh Arnold, Senior-Constable.

GOSFORD – John Aggett, Constable.

GRESFORD – Martin Prentice, Constable.

GRETA – John Dunshea, Constable.

GUNNEDAH – John P. Ewing, Senior-Sergeant.

GUYRA – James J. Eather, Constable.

HAMILTON – James Champion, Constable.

HANGING ROCK – W. E. Clare, Constable.

HOWE’S VALLEY – Leonard W. Cooper, Const.

INVERELL – James W. Travers, Sergeant.

JERRY’S PLAINS – A. Stone, Constable.

KEMPSEY – Bennett Bennett, Sergeant.

KERRABEE – Thomas A. Bowen, Constable.

LAMBTON – George Salter, Senior-Constable.

LOCHINVAR – J. T. O’Brien, Constable.

MAITLAND EAST – William Morrow, Sergeant.

MAITLAND WEST – James Cruise, Sergeant.

MANILLA – F. Gardiner, Senior-Constable.

MEROE – James J. Burrell, Constable.

MERRIWA – James Hassard, Senior-Sergeant.

MILLIE – Alfred P. Young, Constable.

MINMI – John Rogers, Constable.

MOGIL MOGIL – George Lattimore, Constable.

MOONBI – Leopold Calov, Senior-Constable.

MOREE – John N. Oldfield, Sergeant.

MORPETH – John Gordon, Sergeant.

MOUNT VINCENT – J. P. Vizzard, Sen. Const.

MUNGUNDI – John T. Crawley, Constable.

MURRURUNDI – James Brennan, Sergeant.

MUSWELLBROOK – James Smith, Senr-Sgt.

NAMBUCCA – Edward Hitchens, Constable.

NARRABRI – Dennis Meagher, Sergeant.

NUNDLE – W. Langworthy, Senior-Sergeant.

PATERSON – George Thompson, Sergeant.

PILLIGA – William Carmody, Constable.

PT. MACQUARIE – Nathaniel Netterfield, Const.

QUIRINDI -Augustus J. C. Agassiz, Senr. Const.

RAYMOND TERRACE – David Cowan, S/Const.

SCONE – John Coady, Senior-Sergeant.

SINGLETON – Michael Moylan, Senior-Sergeant.

STROUD – Owen Shanaghan, Senior-Constable.

TAMBAR SPRINGS – John Mahon, Senr. Const.

TAMWORTH – Edward Nickson, Senior-Const.

TAREE – Francis O. Lagerlow, Senior-Constable.

TENTERFIELD – William Hicks, Sergeant.

TIGHE’S HILL – William Smith, Constable.

TINGHA – Josiah Harris, Constable.

TINONEE – John Brennan, Constable.

URALLA – Charles Harry Hughes, Constable.

WALCHA – Thomas Olver, Sergeant.

WALGETT – Walter A. Pountney, Senr-Constable.

WALLABADAH – Lewis Ward, Senior-Constable.

WALLSEND – Edward Grennan, Sergeant.

WARATAH – Simon Daley, Constable.

WARIALDA – Thomas A. Clarke, Sergeant.

WEE WAA – Roger Kennedy, Constable.

WERRIS CREEK – W. Tubman, Constable.

WINGHAM – W. F. Osborne, Constable.

WOLLAR – Chas. Thorndike, Senior-Constable.

WOLLOMBI – E. W. Mitchell, Senior-Constable.

YETMAN – John Hogan, Constable.



This list shows some, but not all, of the NSW Police Stations that were manned by, at least, those mentioned in the above article as of 1 April 1886.