The Sheriff’s of NSW


The Sheriffs of the Colony and State of New South Wales

Below is a list of the Sheriff’s of New South Wales and the years during which they held office.

Years Sheriff
1824-1827 John Mackanass
1828 William Carter
1829-1841 Thomas Macquoid
1842 William Hustler
1843-1849 Adolphus William Young
1849-1854 Gilbert Eliot
1855-1860 John O’Neill Brenan
1861-1864 George Richard Uhr
1864-1874 Harold Maclean
1874-1896 Charles Cowper Jnr.
1896-1917 Cecil Edmunds Bridgewater Maybury
1917-1920 Charles Richard Walsh
1920-1925 Walter William Crockford
1925-1939 George Francis Murphy
1939-1945 Harry Charles Lester
1945-1960 Roland Oliver Elliot
1960-1968 Donald Mercer Richardson
1968-1974 Thomas Alexander Woodward
1974-1985 George Francis Hanson
1985-1997 David Michael Lennon
1997 – 1998 Nerida Johnston
1998 – Bruce Kelly


History of the Office of the Sheriff
The Office of Sheriff in Australia today
The Sheriff in Australia

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x